The Office of Navajo Nation Scholarship & Financial Assistance (ONNSFA) is a scholarship opportunity offered to enrolled members of the Navajo Nation to assist them in attaining their educational dreams. The ONNSFA was inaugurated in 1972 as the Navajo Higher Education Office when the Navajo Nation entered into a P.L. 93-638 contract with the Bureau of Indian Affairs to administer the Higher Education Grant.

Read also: Equitable Excellence Scholarship – How To Apply

The ONNSFA receives funding and financial aid from diverse sources including federal funds from the Navajo Nation Funds, Higher Education Grant, Trust Funds, and Corporate Funds.

The ONNSFA awarded more than $24 million in financial aid and scholarships to about 6,000 students pursuing a college degree.


These are the awards and scholarships offered by the ONNSFA:

Financial Need-Based Award

This scholarship awards $2,500 in funding to students per term. The scholarship is available for only students who demonstrate financial need according to the Financial Need Analysis (FNA) form. The form is submitted by the school on behalf of the aspirant. Only students whose family or personal resources are not enough to fund their education at higher institution level will be chosen.

No Need-Based Award

This scholarship awards approximately $1,000 to students per term. This scholarship offers assistance to students to students seeking to attain a college or university degree.

Chief Manuelito Scholarship

This scholarship awards $3,500 per term. This is a merit-based scholarship therefore scholarships will be granted based on students’ academic achievements. The Chief Manuelito Scholarship is awarded depending on the GPA of college-level courses.

Part-Time Undergraduate Award

The award amount of this scholarship varies. This scholarship is open to only part-time undergraduate students. Application requirements and award amounts vary.

Apply: Evans Scholarship – Apply

Graduate Award

The scholarship awards prizes ranging from $2,500 to $5,000 per term. These awards are provided to Navajo students pursuing graduate-level degrees. Awards are given to students pursuing either a master’s degree, education terminal degree, or a doctorate’s degree. Full-time graduates or post-graduates must earn nine or more semester credit hours with a cumulative point average of 3.00 or higher. To apply for the scholarship as a medical, veterinary, or law student, you must enroll as a full-time graduate applicant and obtain a minimum of 2.00 cumulative GPA.

Part-Time Graduate Award

The award prizes vary, this scholarship is available to only part-time graduate students. The application, requirements, and award amounts vary.

How To Apply

To apply, candidates are to click on the “Apply Online” button on the application website. They are to then choose Full-Time or Part-Time Application.

Candidates should ensure that their entries and information are accurate before submitting their applications, this will prevent error and repetition of applications.

NOTE: Submitting incorrect information or multiple online applications will delay processing time.

For more information, visit the official website