The Critical Language Scholarship (CLS) Program is an initiative created for American college and university students to learn new languages crucial for the United States to maintain its engagement with the world.

Read also: Coolidge Scholarship Program – How To Apply

Candidates of this program will be sent to various parts of the world to learn new languages. The program provides education on foreign languages and also cultural heritages experience needed for the students to stay relevant in the growing world system.

CLS is an initiative created by the U.S. government to develop Americans in foreign languages and cultures. The initiative is essential for the development of the United States in various sectors. These languages are not taught in U.S. schools, therefore CLS was created to help broaden this aspect of the Nation’s prosperity.

Apply: National Merit Scholarship Program 2021 – Apply Now

The program will allow its candidates to attain prominence in the ever-changing economic system. It allows the country to attain long-lasting relationships with host countries further contributing to world peace. It will improve national security and participants to serve the country as ambassadors. It will promote the diversity of the United States and help close the gap created by racism and generalizations.

Aspirants in all study disciplines and backgrounds are eligible for the program, the program also invites applications from individuals with disabilities.

Candidates are required to proceed with their language study after the scholarship period and are also expected to apply their language skills when pursuing an academic or professional career. The program has a duration of 8-10 weeks in the summer.

Scholarships will be awarded in the following languages;

Azerbaijani, Hindi, Indonesian, Bangla, Persian, Punjabi, Swahili, Turkish, Urdu, Arabic, Korean, Russian, Portuguese, Chinese and Japanese.

Eligibility Criteria

•Applicants must be United States citizens
•Must be enrolled to study an undergraduate or graduate program at an accredited United States university.
•Candidates must be 18 by the commencement of the CLS program
•Students in their undergraduate studies must have completed at least one year in their respective institutions by program start date

You may like: 2021 McCall MacBain Scholarships- McGill University, Canada.

Application Procedures

To apply, candidates are to complete and submit the online application form.

For more information, visit the official website